i am the luckiest

It was on this day last year that I posted this photo on Facebook.

One year. If this past year is any indication, I can’t wait to see what the rest have in store.

Since our anniversary last year, our son was born, making us two very proud parents. My heart grew a few sizes when I held Owen for the first time, and managed to grow a few more when I saw my husband so gently cradle his little boy in his arms. A love blossomed within me that I didn’t realize possible. My admiration and love for my husband grew alongside my love for my son. My boys, one big and one small, make my heart smile. I love my family.

When we were no longer able to hold our little guy in our arms, the strength of our family, our marriage, was tested. We had read the alarming statistics on how marriages falter after the loss of a child, but refused to believe them. We had even more love in our lives, not less. We needed, we need, each other more than ever. Our son is a part of us. Together is how we will carry on his memory, allowing his spirit to flourish in everything that we do. Together we will continue to write our story.

My husband is my best friend. He loves with his whole heart (Owen and I are lucky to have him). He makes me smile. He makes me laugh. He continues to hold me up when I feel incapable of carrying on. His shoulder, strong enough to support the weight of my tears. His arms ready when my heavy heart weakens me at the knees. His love for his family is unfaltering. I love my husband.

Our marriage is the backbone of our family. It is a bond of great importance, a model of love for our children. This past year has been difficult, it has been emotional, but it has been ours. Nobody could have prepared us for this journey we are on. Tragedy has befallen our family of three, but we have made the choice to keep going. For our family. We made a promise to each other two years ago today. We made a promise and then sealed it with a kiss.

Here’s to another year, filled with adventure, giggles, and hopefully just as much love as this past year has brought into our lives. I can’t wait.

One thought on “i am the luckiest

  1. Debra August 3, 2015 / 12:18 pm

    What a beautiful picture and post! Owen has such loving parents. Seriously, your family has huge hearts.

    Soooo….did I ever tell you that bobby and my anniversary is August 2? Ha, we have so many threads that tie us together.

    Sending love to you three.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

